Home   »   Geography   »   Adriatic Sea

Adriatic Sea, Map, Bordering Countries, Islands, Climate

Adriatic Sea

The Adriatic Sea, which stretches from the Strait of Otranto to the northwest and the Po Valley, is the northernmost arm of the Mediterranean Sea. The Italian Peninsula and the Balkans are divided by the semi-enclosed Adriatic Sea. The Strait of Otranto, which is 72 km wide, connects the Adriatic Sea and the Ionian Sea in the southeast. Albania, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia, and Italy are the nations that border the Adriatic Sea. There are about 1,300 islands in the Adriatic, most of which are on the eastern shore.

Read More: Atlantic Ocean

Adriatic Sea Map

Here is the map of the Adriatic Sea, a section of the Mediterranean Sea.

Adriatic Sea Map
Adriatic Sea Map

Read More: Caribbean Sea

Adriatic Sea Basins

The Adriatic Sea is separated into three basins, with the southern basin having the deepest maximum depth of 1,233 metres and the northern basin having the shallowest maximum depth (4,045 ft). The Otranto Sill, an underwater ridge, is situated where the Adriatic and Ionian Seas converge. Because the Adriatic Sea serves as a dilution basin for a third of the freshwater flowing into the Mediterranean, its salinity is lower than that of the Mediterranean Sea.

The Soca, Krka, Po, Neretva, Bojana, Drin, and Vjose are some of the major rivers that empty into the Adriatic. Along the entire Adriatic coast, tourism and fisheries are major sources of income.

Read More: Sea of Azov

Adriatic Sea Bordering Countries

The Adriatic Sea, a section of the Mediterranean Sea, is situated between the countries of the Balkan Peninsula, from Slovenia south through Croatia, and Italy’s eastern coast, Albania and Montenegro. The Strait of Otranto, which separates Albania’s Salento Peninsula from Italy’s boot, serves as the sea’s southern terminus. The Ionian Sea starts just south of that strait.

Read More: Arabian Sea

Adriatic Sea Location

The Adriatic Sea, also known as Mare Adriatico in Italian, Jadransko More in Bosnia, Croatia, and Montenegro, and Deti I Adriatikut in Albania, is an arm of the Mediterranean Sea that is situated between the Italian and Balkan peninsulas. At its southernmost point, the Strait of Otranto connects it to the Ionian Sea.

Read More: Sea of Japan

Adriatic Sea Islands

More than 1,300 islands and islets make up the Adriatic Sea, with the majority located along its eastern shore, particularly in Croatia, where 1,246 islands have been tallied.  The total includes all sizes of islands, islets, and rocks, even some that only appear during low tide. The largest Croatian islands are Cres and Krk, which each have an area of around 405.78 square kilometres (156.67 square miles), while the tallest is Bra, whose peak rises to a height of 780 metres (2,560 feet) above sea level.

Only a small navigable canal constructed during classical antiquity separates the neighbouring Loinj island from Cres, which the Greeks referred to as Apsyrtides. There are 47 permanently inhabited islands in Croatia, with Krk, Korula, and Bra having the highest populations.

The best-known of them are the 117 islands upon which the city of Venice is situated; nonetheless, the islands along the western (Italian) shore of the Adriatic are smaller and less numerous than those along the opposite coast. The IHO defines the Adriatic Sea as the area to the north of the Greek island of Corfu. The Diapontia Islands are located in the Adriatic Sea, northwest of Corfu, according to the IHO boundary.

Read More: South China Sea

Adriatic Sea Climate

The southern Adriatic is classed as a hot-summer Mediterranean climate, while the upper portion of the Adriatic is classified as a humid subtropical climate (Cfa), with wetter summers and colder, drier winters (Csa). Throughout a season, the air temperature can change by roughly 20 °C (36 °F). The bora and sirocco are the two main winter winds (called jugo along the eastern coast).

The Dinaric Alps’ wind gaps, which let in cold, dry continental air, have a great influence on the bora. It reaches its peak speeds near Trieste, Senj, and Split, with gusts of up to 180 kph. The sirocco produces warm, humid air that frequently contains Saharan sand, which can cause rain and dust.

Read More: East China Sea

Adriatic Sea UPSC

The Adriatic Sea connects the Gulf of Venice to the Ionian Sea by extending southward to the Strait of Otranto. Italy, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, and Slovenia are bordering nations.

Read More: Atlantic Ocean

Other Indian Geography Topics

Seasons of India Mountains of India
Mangrove Forests in India Important Mountain Passes in India
Monsoon in India
Indus River System
Climate of India
Rivers of India
Tributaries of Ganga
National Parks in India
Important Dams in India
Wildlife Sanctuaries of India
Tiger Reserves in India
Northern Plains of India
Physiography of India
Important Lakes of India
Wetlands in India
Biodiversity in India
Natural Vegetation in India Earthquakes in India
Types of Soil in India
Ramsar Sites in India
Brahmaputra River System
Hydropower Plants in India
Nuclear Power Plants in India
Major Ports in India
Biosphere Reserves in India
Waterfalls in India

Other Fundamental Geography Topics

Solar System Types of Clouds
Structure of the Atmosphere Himalayan Ranges
Component of Environment
El Nino and La Nina
Coral Reef
Continental Drift Theory
Endogenic and Exogenic Forces
Indian Ocean Region
Pacific Ocean
Indian Ocean Dipole
Air Pollution
Environmental Impact Assessment
Tropical Cyclone
Western Disturbances
Types of Rocks

Sharing is caring!


Where is the Adriatic Sea located?

Slovenia, Albania, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Italy, and Slovenia are all bordered by the Adriatic Sea. Between Italy and the Balkan Peninsula, the Adriatic Sea is the northernmost portion of the Mediterranean Sea.

Why is the Adriatic Sea so blue?

The Mediterranean Sea is oligotrophic, which means there aren't enough nutrients for algae to grow. As a result, the water's top layer is better able to absorb and scatter sunlight and maintain a brilliant blue colour. This is one reason why the water in Croatia is so blue.

Which country owns the Adriatic Sea?

The Adriatic Sea is bordered by Croatia. Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Italy, and Slovenia are other nations that border the Adriatic Sea. The Mediterranean Sea's northernmost arm is known as the Adriatic.

Which city is known as the city of Adriatic?

The nicknames "La Dominante," "Serenissima," "Queen of the Adriatic," "City of Water," "City of Masks," "City of Bridges," "The Floating City," and "City of Canals" have all been applied to Venice.

What countries are in the Adriatic Sea?

It connects the Gulf of Venice to the Ionian Sea by extending southward to the Strait of Otranto. Italy, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, and Slovenia are bordering nations.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *