Home   »   Geography   »   East China Sea

East China Sea, Map, Countries, Dispute, Senkaku Islands

East China Sea

The East China Sea is a marginal sea in the Western Pacific Ocean located just offshore from East China, with the Japanese islands of Kyushu and Ryukyu to the east, the South China Sea to the south, and the Asian peninsula to the west.  The sea connects with the Sea of Japan via the Korea Strait and expands up to the north into the Yellow Sea.

In this article, you will get to know about the details of the East China Sea in detail for UPSC/IAS exam.

Read More: India-China Border Dispute

East China Sea Countries

The countries that border the East China Sea are South Korea, Japan, the Republic of China (Taiwan), and the People’s Republic of China.

Read about: India Pakistan Border Dispute

East China Sea Map

Here is a map of the East China Sea given below for a better understanding:

East China Sea

East China Sea Physical Geography

In the east of China, a marginal sea is a part of the Pacific Ocean. South Korea, Japan, the Republic of China (Taiwan), and the People’s Republic of China are bordering nations. The South China Sea lies to its south, and Asia’s continent is to its west. Opens to the north into the Yellow Sea and is connected to the Sea of Japan through the Korean Strait.

Read More: India Nepal Border Dispute

East China Sea Dispute

Directly offshore of East China is the East China Sea, an arm of the Western Pacific Ocean. It encompasses around 1,249,000 square kilometres (482,000 sq mi). The Yellow Sea, which separates the Korean Peninsula from mainland China to the north, may be found between the eastern tip of Qidong at the Yangtze River estuary and the southwestern tip of Jeju Island in South Korea.

The middle section of the first island chain off the eastern Eurasian continental landmass, which includes the Japanese island of Kyushu and the Ryukyu Islands, and the island of Taiwan, form the eastern and southeast borders of the East China Sea. Through the Korea Strait in the northeast, the Taiwan Strait in the southwest, and the gaps between the numerous Ryukyu Islands in the southeast, it is connected to the Sea of Japan, the South China Sea, and the Philippine Sea (e.g. Tokara Strait and Miyako Strait).

Nearly three-fourths of the East China Sea is shallow, with an average depth of 350 metres (1,150 feet) and a maximum depth of 2,716 metres (attained in the Okinawa Trough) respectively (8,911 ft). China, Japan, Taiwan, and South Korea all have access to the East China Sea.

Senkaku Islands

In accordance with Article 2 of the San Francisco Peace Treaty of 1951, which set the boundaries of Japan’s post-World War 2 territory, the Senkaku Islands were not part of the territory that Japan surrendered.

The islands were given to the United States to manage as part of the Nansei Shoto Islands under Article 3 of the treaty. According to the 1972 Agreement between Japan and the United States of America Concerning the Ryukyu Islands and the Daito Islands, the Senkaku Islands are among the territories whose administrative rights have been returned to Japan.

China and Taiwan refer to the Senkaku Islands as the Diaoyus and Tiaoyutai, respectively. China and Taiwan both claim the islands. A group of uninhabited islands known as the Senkaku Islands in Japan, the Diaoyu Islands in China, and the Tiaoyutai Islands in Taiwan are the subject of the Senkaku Islands dispute, sometimes known as the Diaoyu Islands conflict.

In the East China Sea, there are eight uninhabited islands. They are located northeast of Taiwan and have a combined area of around 7 sq km.

Read about: Indian Ocean

China’s Claim over East China Sea

According to China, the islands have been a part of its territory since the dawn of time and have been utilised as significant fishing grounds by the province of Taiwan. Following the Sino-Japanese War, Taiwan was given to Japan by the Treaty of Shimonoseki in 1895. China claims that the islands should have been returned along with Taiwan when it was restored under the Treaty of San Francisco.

Read about: Pacific Ocean

East China Sea UPSC

China and Japan are now engaged in two related territorial disputes in the East China Sea. The Diaoyu/Senkaku Islands are at the centre of the first controversy. Japan is in charge of the islands, but China claims them. Japan does not acknowledge that a territorial dispute exists.

Read about: Indian Ocean Dipole

Other Indian Geography Topics

Seasons of India Mountains of India
Mangrove Forests in India Important Mountain Passes in India
Monsoon in India
Indus River System
Climate of India
Rivers of India
Tributaries of Ganga
National Parks in India
Important Dams in India
Wildlife Sanctuaries of India
Tiger Reserves in India
Northern Plains of India
Physiography of India
Important Lakes of India
Wetlands in India
Biodiversity in India
Natural Vegetation in India Earthquakes in India
Types of Soil in India
Ramsar Sites in India
Brahmaputra River System
Hydropower Plants in India
Nuclear Power Plants in India
Major Ports in India
Biosphere Reserves in India
Waterfalls in India

Other Fundamental Geography Topics

Solar System Types of Clouds
Structure of the Atmosphere Himalayan Ranges
Component of Environment
El Nino and La Nina
Coral Reef
Continental Drift Theory
Endogenic and Exogenic Forces
Indian Ocean Region
Pacific Ocean
Indian Ocean Dipole
Air Pollution
Environmental Impact Assessment
Tropical Cyclone
Western Disturbances
Types of Rocks

Sharing is caring!


What is the East China Sea known for?

The East China Sea serves as the primary maritime route from the South China Sea to Japanese and other North Pacific ports, in addition to the local marine traffic in and out of Chinese and Korean ports. Shanghai in China, Nagasaki in Japan, and Chi-lung in Taiwan are the three principal ports on the East China Sea.

Where is the East China Sea located?

The East China Sea, also known as the Chinese (Wade-Giles) Tung Hai or (Pinyin) Dong Hai, is an arm of the Pacific Ocean that borders the East Asian continent and extends northeast from the South China Sea. It is joined to the South China Sea by the narrow Taiwan Strait that separates Taiwan from mainland China.

Why is called the South China Sea?

It is surrounded by South China's coastline to the north, the Indochinese Peninsula to the west, Taiwan's islands to the east, the Philippines' northwestern islands, primarily Luzon, Mindoro, and Palawan, to the south, Borneo, eastern Sumatra, and the Bangka Belitung Islands.

Who owns the West China Sea?

Parts of the sea are disputed by Brunei, China, Malaysia, the Philippines, Taiwan, and Vietnam. China's claim to have "historical rights" to approximately 90% of the waterway is delineated by a nine-dash line. Additionally, the line crosses through Indonesia's exclusive economic zone (EEZ).

What is the issue with the East China Sea?

Civil and governmental demonstrations between China and Japan have been sparked by rounds of island ownership disputes in the East China Sea. Socotra Rock, a submerged reef on which South Korea has built a scientific research station, is the subject of a dispute between the PRC and South Korea.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *