Home   »   UPSC Age Limit 2023

UPSC Age Limit 2023, Eligibility Criteria, Educational Qualifications

UPSC Age Limit

UPSC organizes a civil services examination every year across the country for which candidates need to fulfil some basic eligibility criteria like age limit, nationality, and the number of attempts. The minimum age limit for the UPSC Exam 2023 is 21 years and the maximum age limit is 32 years (except for age relaxation categories).

UPSC Exam Age Limit 2023

UPSC Age Limit is a very crucial aspect for any candidate to take the UPSC Civil Services Exam. Hence, candidates must generally meet the requirements listed below:

Age Limit

21 to 32 years

Age Relaxation

As per the category (OBC, SC, ST)

Number of Attempts

06 (General and EWS)

09 (OBC)

SC/ST (Upto age limit)

Educational Qualification for UPSC CSE

Graduation from any recognized university


Indian (For IAS, IFS and IPS)

UPSC Exam Eligibility Criteria

Candidates who want to qualify for the UPSC CSE 2023 examination in order to become IAS/ IPS/ IFS and other officers must fulfil all the eligibility requirements mentioned in the official notification. It is the minimum necessary qualification needed to take the exam. Details on UPSC CSE 2023 eligibility conditions are provided below:

UPSC Nationality Criteria

  • For the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), the Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and the Indian Police Service (IPS), a candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • For other services, a candidate must be either:
    • a citizen of India, or
    • a subject of Nepal, or
    • a subject of Bhutan, or
    • a Tibetan refugee who entered India prior to January 1, 1962, with the purpose to settle there permanently, or
    • a person of Indian origin who moved to India with the purpose of residing there permanently, primarily from Vietnam, Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, or the East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire and Ethiopia.

UPSC Age Limit 2023 for General, OBC, SC/ST

UPSC has a fixed number of attempts and Age Limit Criteria for the UPSC examination. A candidate must have a minimum age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years. Here is the category-wise age limit and the number of attempts:


Upper Age Limit for UPSC

Maximum Number of Attempts




Economically Weaker Section (EWS)








Unlimited (Up to age limit)

Defence Services Personnel



Persons with Benchmark Disability



UPSC Exam 2023 Educational Qualification

A candidate must hold a graduate degree from one of the Indian universities established by an act of the national or state legislature or from one of the other educational institutions recognised as universities under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent degree from one of those institutions.

Candidates who are in their final year of college or who are awaiting results may also apply to take the UPSC preliminary examination. All such candidates who plan to attempt for IAS exams must submit documentation of their success in the relevant test along with their application for the main IAS exam.

Medical students who have passed the final year of their MBBS programme but have not yet finished their internship are also eligible for the IAS. Although a course completion certificate (including an internship) from the relevant University/Institution authority must be submitted with the Main Examination application.

Other UPSC 2023 Related Links

Sharing is caring!

UPSC Age Limit 2023 FAQs

Can a 40-year-old give the IAS exam?

The candidate must be at least 21 years old and not older than 32 years old.

Can I become IAS after 35 years?

The upper age limit for appearing in the UPSC IAS examination is 32 years for the general and EWS categories while 35 years is for OBC and 37 years is for SC/ST.

Can a 45-year-old give the IAS exam?

Age Limit criteria for the UPSC IAS exam:

The upper age limit for the General & EWS Category is 32 years.
The upper age limit for OBC is 35 years.
The upper age limit for SC/ST is 37 Years.

What is the Qualification of UPSC?

The candidate must hold a graduation degree from a government-recognized university.

How many attempts are there for the IAS exam?

A candidate for the general category or EWS has six attempts to pass the UPSC IAS exam. Candidates from the OBC have nine attempts; candidates from the SC/ST have no maximum number of attempts (they can take the exam until they reach the upper age limit).

Download your free content now!


We have received your details!

We'll share General Studies Study Material on your E-mail Id.

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

We'll share General Studies Study Material on your E-mail Id.

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Studies PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.