Home   »   UPSC Calendar 2023   »   List of Viceroy of India

List of Viceroy of India from 1856 to 1947, History, Tenure & Events

List of Viceroy of India Overview

List of Viceroy of India: The governor-general of India, formerly known as the viceroy of India, served as the monarch of the United Kingdom’s representative, and upon Indian Independence in 1947, the viceroy took on the role of the head of state of India. A Viceroy refers to a delegate of a King or queen who governs another nation on behalf of that monarch. Following the uprising in 1857, the British took over the Viceroy’s position and authority. Governor Generals ruled India prior to the Viceroy. Lord Canning, the first viceroy of India, controlled the country from 1856 to 1862.

National Symbols of India

List of Viceroy of India from 1856 to 1947

Here’s the complete List of Viceroy of India from 1856 to 1947:




Lord Canning 1858-1862
  • Eliminated the doctrine of lapse
Lord Elgin 1862 – 1863
  • The Wahabi Movement
Lord Lawrence 1864 – 1869
  • During his rule, the High Court was established at Madras and Calcutta. The Anglo-Bhutanese War also occurred.
Lord Mayo 1869 – 1872
  • The first-ever introduction of financial distribution between the centre and the state 1872 saw the first census.
  • Mayo College was established for the royal elite.
  • The only Governor-General to die in India was Lord Mayo. He was murdered by Sher Ali Afridi murdered at Port Blair.
  • Creation of the Indian Statistical Survey
Lord Northbrook 1872 – 1876
  • Introduction of Civil Marriage and Arya Samaj Marriage
  • In 1872, the Universal Marriage Act was passed.
  • Intercaste marriage is permitted.
  • The Punjab Kuka Movement
Lord Lytton 1876 – 1880
  • Vernacular Press Act and Arms Act both passed in 1878.
  • Nationalist perspective: Because of the high tax rate, purchasing power has decreased.
  • According to the government, drought is a natural occurrence that made people destitute.
  • Organized durbar despite a terrible famine. Queen Victoria was also known as “The Empress of India.”
  • British traders were exempt from paying cotton taxes.
  • The minimum age to sit for the civil service exam has been lowered to 19.
Lord Ripon 1880 – 1884
  • He was the most well-liked governor general
  • The contentious Arms and Vernacular Press Act was repealed.
  • Established Local self-governments, including Panchayats and Municipal Boards, earning him the title “Father of Self Government.”
  • In 1884, Punjab University and 1887, Allahabad University, two new universities were founded.
  • Illbert Bill: English judge cannot be tried by an Indian judge
  • The Hunter Commission’s appointment
Lord Dufferin 1884 – 1888
  • The Third Anglo-Burmese War (1885–1866)
  • In 1885, the Indian National Congress was established.
Lord Lansdowne 1888 – 1894
  • The 1892 Indian Councils Act (Indirect election was introduced for the first time)
  • 1891 Factory Act
Lord Elgin II 1894 – 1899
  • The first British officer called Rands died.
  • The brothers Chapekar (Ramkrishna & Damodar) killed him. It was the initial political murder..
Lord Curzon 1899 – 1905
  • Partition of Bengal; Raleigh Commission; Indian Universities Act (to regulate Indian Universities); Curzon-Kitchener Controversy
Lord Minto II 1905 – 1910
  • Formation of Morley – Minto reforms
Lord Hardinge II 1910 – 1916
  • Mesopotamian Campaign; Transfer of Capital from Calcutta to Delhi; Madan Mohan Malaviya’s founding of Hindu Mahasabha
Lord Chelmsford 1916 – 1921
  • Movements in the Home Rule League
  • The Rowlatt Act was adopted.
  • The Montague-Chelmsford Reform Act was approved.
Lord Reading 1921 – 1926
Lord Irwin 1926 – 1931
  • Beginning of the Dandi march and civil disobedience movement
  • The first round table discussion took place.
Lord Willingdon 1931 – 1936
  • The Poona Pact was signed;
  • The Second and Third Round Table Conferences;
  • The Communal Award Program
Lord Linlithgow 1936 – 1944
  • Beginning of Cripps Mission
  • Began of  Quit India movement
Lord Wavell 1944 – 1947
  •  Wavell Plan,
  • Shimla Conference,
  • Direct Action Day, CR Formula 1944,
Lord Mountbatten 1947-48
  • The June 3rd Plan,
  • The First Governor-General of a free India, and the Last Viceroy

States and Capitals of India

List of viceroys of India

List of Viceroy of India History

A royal charter from Queen Elizabeth I allowed the British to enter India as traders. The British began their authority in India through trading, and they quickly acquired control of the country’s trading activities. The fortification of William was under the supervision of a governor-general in Kolkata. The East Indian Company lost control of the area following the uprising of 1857, and the Crown took it. The Viceroy of India replaced the term “Governor General” in the title. Lord Canning served as the country’s first viceroy, while Lord Mountbatten served as the country’s final viceroy. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari was the only Indian after independence to hold the position of Viceroy of India.

National Parks in India

List of Viceroy of India UPSC

  • The British government directly appointed the Viceroy.
  • Lord Canning served as India’s first viceroy.
  • Following the Revolt of 1857, the Indian government established the post in 1858. The role of Governor-General of India was superseded by the Viceroy of India, who represented the British crown. Lord Mountbatten was the last viceroy of India
  • Chakravarti Rajagopalachari served as India’s Last governor general from 1948 to 1950.

Wildlife Sanctuaries of India

List of Viceroy of India FAQs

Q Who was the largest Viceroy of India?

Ans. The longest-serving Viceroy and Governor-General in India was Lord Linlithgow.

Q What was the role of viceroy in India?

Ans. After 1858, the governor-general, now more commonly referred to as the viceroy, served as both India’s chief administrator and a representative of the sovereign. India had multiple provinces, each with a governor, lieutenant governor, chief commissioner, or administrator as their leader.

Q Who was the most loved Viceroy of India?

Ans. Between 1880 and 1884, Lord Ripon served as a viceroy in India under British authority. He is regarded as the most liberal viceroy and is referred to as the “Good Viceroy of India.” He started a number of reform initiatives as soon as he assumed office on June 8, 1880.

Q Who appointed the Viceroy of India?

Ans. The Court of Directors of the East India Company was replaced with the title of viceroy, and individuals were chosen by the king based on advice from the British government.

Q Who was the first viceroy in India?

Ans. The very first Viceroy of India was Lord Canning. From 1858 to 1862, a total of four years, he was in office.

Q Who was the first viceroy under the ground?

Ans. The very first Viceroy of India was Lord Canning. From 1858 to 1862, a total of four years, he was in office.

Major Incidents in Indian History

  1. Quit India Movement
  2. Chauri Chaura Incident
  3. Jallianwala Bagh Massacre
  4. Green Revolution in India
  5. Non-Cooperation Movement

Famous Personalities Biography

Mangal Pandey
Maharana Pratap
Rabindranath Tagore
Bhagat Singh
Jyotiba Phule
Satyendra Nath Bose
Raja Ram Mohan Roy
Subhash Chandra Bose


Sharing is caring!

Download your free content now!


We have received your details!

We'll share General Studies Study Material on your E-mail Id.

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

We'll share General Studies Study Material on your E-mail Id.

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Studies PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.