Home   »   Daily Current Affairs   »   List of Chief Ministers of Karnataka

List of Chief Ministers of Karnataka & their Tenure

List of Chief Ministers of Karnataka 1947-2022

Here is the complete updated List of Chief Ministers of Karnataka

Chief Ministers



Basavaraj Bommai 28 Jul 2021 Present
B. S. Yeddyurappa 26 Jul 2019 26 Jul 2021
H. D. Kumaraswamy 23 May 2018 23 Jul 2019
B. S. Yeddyurappa 17 May 2018 23 May 2018
Siddaramaiah 13 May 2013 15 May 2018
Jagadish Shettar 12 Jul 2012 12 May 2013
D. V. Sadananda Gowda 04 Aug 2011 12 Jul 2012
B. S. Yeddyurappa 30 May 2008 31 Jul 2011
President’s rule 20 Nov 2007 27 May 2008
B. S. Yeddyurappa 12 Nov 2007 19 Nov 2007
President’s rule 09 Oct 2007 11 Nov 2007
H. D. Kumaraswamy 03 Feb 2006 08 Oct 2007
Dharam Singh 28 May 2004 28 Jan 2006
S. M. Krishna 11 Oct 1999 28 May 2004
J. H. Patel 31 May 1996 07 Oct 1999
H. D. Deve Gowda 11 Dec 1994 31 May 1996
M. Veerappa Moily 19 Nov 1992 11 Dec 1994
S. Bangarappa 17 Oct 1990 19 Nov 1992
President’s rule 10 Oct 1990 17 Oct 1990
Veerendra Patil 30 Nov 1989 10 Oct 1990
President’s rule 21 Apr 1989 30 Nov 1989
S. R. Bommai 13 Aug 1988 21 Apr 1989
Ramakrishna Hegde 16 Feb 1986 10 Aug 1988
Ramakrishna Hegde 08 Mar 1985 13 Feb 1986
Ramakrishna Hegde 10 Jan 1983 29 Dec 1984
R. Gundu Rao 12 Jan 1980 06 Jan 1983
D. Devaraj Urs 28 Feb 1978 07 Jan 1980
President’s rule 31 Dec 1977 28 Feb 1978
D. Devaraj Urs 20 Mar 1972 31 Dec 1977
President’s rule 19 Mar 1971 20 Mar 1972
Veerendra Patil 29 May 1968 18 Mar 1971
S. Nijalingappa 21 Jun 1962 28 May 1968
S. R. Kanthi 14 Mar 1962 20 Jun 1962
B. D. Jatti 16 May 1958 09 Mar 1962
S. Nijalingappa 01 Nov 1956 16 May 1958
Kadidal Manjappa 19 Aug 1956 31 Oct 1956
K. Hanumanthaiah 30 Mar 1952 19 Aug 1956
K. Chengalaraya Reddy 25 Oct 1947 30 Mar 1952

List of President of India

Chief Ministers of Karnataka Important Facts for UPSC

Chief Ministers of Karnataka

Facts about CM of Karnataka

B.S. Yediyurappa He has the shortest tenure of any CM in 2018 with only 2.5 days of service.
D. Devaraj Urs He was the Chief Minister for the longest period of time, nearly seven years in the 1970s.
Ramakrishna Hegde The most terms served were three discontinuous terms.
Veerendra Patil largest gap between the two terms it was about 17 years
B. D. Jatti Served as the fifth Vice President of the nation.
H. D. Deve Gowda shortened his term as Chief Minister (1994–1996) in order to become India’s Prime Minister

List of Prime Minister of India

Chief Ministers of Karnataka

The chief executive of the Indian state of Karnataka is known as the chief minister. According to the Indian Constitution, the chief minister has de facto executive authority even if the governor is a state’s de jure head. The party (or coalition) with the majority of seats is often invited by the state’s governor to form the government after elections for the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. The assembly holds the chief minister’s council of ministers collectively accountable, and the governor appoints the chief minister. The chief minister’s tenure is for five years with no term limitations because the legislature has given him its support.

Basavaraj Bommai was introduced as Karnataka’s 23rd chief minister. He is also a member of the powerful Lingayat ethnic group. Basavaraj Bommai was sworn in as the 23rd Chief Minister of Karnataka at the Raj Bhawan following B.S. Yediyurappa’s resignation from the position. The current chief minister of the state, like the departing chief minister B.S. Yediyurappa, is a member of the politically significant Lingayat community.

List of Chief Minister of India

Karnataka Chief Ministers: FAQs

Q Who is Chief Minister of Karnataka now?

Ans. Basavaraj Bommai is the Chief Minister of Karnataka

Q Who is the present home minister of Karnataka 2022?

Ans. Home Minister of Karnataka is Araga Jnanendra

Q Who is education minister of India?

Ans. Shri Dharmendra Pradhan is the Education Minister of India

Q Who is the medical Minister of Karnataka?

Ans. Sudhakar Keshava Sudhakar is serving as the Minister of Medical Education and Health of Karnataka.

Q Who is the education minister in Karnataka?

Ans. Nagesh is the education Minister in Karnataka. In the district of Tumkur, Nagesh was born. He graduated with a degree in engineering from B.M.S. College of Engineering, and while a student, he participated in the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP).

Q Who is the railway Minister of Karnataka?

Ans. Suresh Angadi is the railway Minister of Karnataka

Q Who is food Minister of Karnataka?

Ans. Umesh Vishwanath Katti  is the food Minister of Karnataka

Major Incidents in Indian History

  1. Quit India Movement
  2. Chauri Chaura Incident
  3. Jallianwala Bagh Massacre
  4. Green Revolution in India
  5. Non-Cooperation Movement

Famous Personalities Biography

Mangal Pandey
Maharana Pratap
Rabindranath Tagore
Bhagat Singh
Jyotiba Phule
Satyendra Nath Bose
Raja Ram Mohan Roy
Subhash Chandra Bose


Sharing is caring!

Download your free content now!


We have received your details!

We'll share General Studies Study Material on your E-mail Id.

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

We'll share General Studies Study Material on your E-mail Id.

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Studies PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.