Home   »   History   »   Indian National Movement

Indian National Movement Phases From 1857-1947 in Chronological Order

Indian National Movement

Indian National Movement helped to unite disparate people and social groups into one nation, shaping an important period of Indian history. Awareness began to emerge with the growth of English education in a few important urban areas, including Calcutta, Madras, and Bombay, in the late 19th century. Intellectuals at the time opposed the injustices and deceit of the previous societal structure. After focusing on the concept of British rule and its impact on India, the informed Indians became progressively more critical of British policies in India. This article has complete details related to Indian National Movement for UPSC Exam Preparations.

Read More: Socio-Religious Reform Movement

Indian National Movement Phases

Based on the time period, the leadership, the objectives, the techniques used, and the social base, the National Movement during the years 1885 to 1947 can be divided into the following three phases.

Indian National Movement Phases
Phase Period Leadership Goal Methods adopted Social Base
Moderate Phase 1885-1905 Moderates/Early Nationalists Dominion Status Constitutional Methods-Petitions, Prayers, Plead Educated Urban Upper Classes
Extremist/Militant Nationalist Phase 1905-1920 Extremists/Militant Nationalists Swaraj/Self-Government Passive Resistance & Swadeshi All Urban Classes
Gandhian Phase 1920-1947 Mahatma Gandhi Sampurna Swaraj/Complete Independence Satyagraha All Urban and Rural Classes(including grass-root level population and masses)

Read More: Reformist Movements & Revivalist Movements

Indian National Movement List

This List represents all the Indian National Movement. Read the List to know all about the Indian national movement:

Indian National Movements Phases From 1857 to 1947

Year Indian National Movement
1857 The Revolt of 1857 or Sepoy Mutiny of 1857 started in Meerut and expanded to Delhi, Agra, Kanpur, and Lucknow.
1905-1911 Swadeshi Movement: Lord Curzon’s Partition of Bengal
1914-1917 Ghadar Movement resulted in the Komagata Maru incident
1916-1918 Home Rule Movement launched by Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Annie Besant
1917 Champaran Satyagraha resulted in the First non-violent protest in India by Mahatma Gandhi
1919 Rowlatt Satyagraha
1920 Khilafat and Non-cooperation Movement: It was the first Mass Movement led by Gandhi.
1930 Civil Disobedience Movement resulted in to break of the Salt law.
1940 Individual Satyagraha resulted against the August Offer, 1940.
1942 Quit India Movement where Gandhi launched his third major movement against British rule.

Read More: Young Bengal Movement

Indian National Movement Moderate Phase (1885-1905)

W.C. Banerjee, Surendra Nath Banerjee, Dhadabhai Naoroji, Feroze Shah Mehta, Gopal Krishna Gokhale, Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya, Badiruddin Tyabji, and Judge Ranade were among the prominent figures during the first phase (moderate phase) of the National Movement. They were referred to as moderates because they used legal and peaceful means to fulfil their requests. The moderates’ requests included things like:

  • Reform and expansion of legislative committees.
  • Greater chances for Indians in higher positions thanks to the simultaneous administration of the ICS test in England and India.
  • The division of the judicial and administrative branches.
  • Greater authority for municipal governments.
  • A cut in military expenditures.

freedom of association, freedom of opinion, and freedom of expression The Moderates were loyal to the British and had complete confidence in them. The Moderates presented their requests through petitions, resolutions, meetings, leaflets and pamphlets, memoranda, and representatives. Only the educated classes were allowed to participate in their political actions. Their goal was to gradually achieve political freedom and self-government. The Indian Council Act of 1892 expanded the legislative councils, which was the only request from Congress that the British government approved.

Read More: Reform Movements in Southern India

Important Moderate Personalities

  • Dhadabhai Naoroji was referred to as India’s “Grand Old Man.” In England, he is considered as India’s unofficial ambassador. The first Asian to hold a seat in the British House of Commons, he made history.
  • Gandhi looked up to Gopal Krishna Gokhale as his political mentor. He established the Servants of India Society in 1905 to teach Indians how to spend their lives in service of their nation.
  • The Indian Burke was the moniker given to Surendranath Banerjee. In order to advocate for legislative reforms, he established the Indian Association in 1876. He had called for the 1883 convocation of the Indian National Conference, which in 1886 united with the Indian National Congress.
  • The Hindu and Swadesamitran were established by G. Subramanya Aiyar.

 Read More: Self-Respect Movement

Indian National Movement Extremist Phase (1905-1916)

The Indian National Movement went through an extreme era from 1905 to 1916. Extremists served as the phase’s leader. Extremists or aggressive patriots thought that success could be attained by using risky tactics. Lala Lajpat Rai, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Bipin Chandra Pal, and Aurobindo Ghosh were significant radical figures.

Indian National Movement From 1905-1918
Indian National Movement
First World War
Partition of Bengal Swadeshi Movement
Muslim League Morley-Minto Reforms 1909 (Indian Council Act 1909)
Ghadar Movement Komagata Maru Incident
Lucknow Pact Home Rule Movement
Surat Split

Indian National Movement UPSC

For many government exams, the Indian National Movement is a very pertinent subject in Indian history, and understanding the types of questions that might be asked in the test is the only way to fully comprehend the importance of this topic. Candidates should therefore practice enough queries on the subject. Peasant movements were a part of societal struggles against British atrocities during the British Colonial Period in the 18th and 19th centuries. This article has all the details related to Indian National Movement for UPSC Preparations.

Read More: Singh Sabha Movement

BPSC 69th Notification 2023

Sharing is caring!


Who started Indian National Movement?

The East India Association was started by Dadabhai Naoroji in 1867, and the Indian National Association was started by Surendranath Banerjee in 1876. Seventy-two Indian delegates gathered in Bombay in 1885 and established the Indian National Congress as a result of a proposal made by A.O. Hume, a retired Scottish civil servant.

How many movements were in Indian National Movement?

There were nine Indian National Movement

Who is the father of Indian National Movement?

Bal Gangadhar Tilak is the father of Indian National Movement

Which was the first national movement in India?

Revolt of 1857 was the first national movement in India

What are the 3 phases of Indian national movement?

The Early Nationalist Period is the name given to the movement's initial stage. The Assertive Nationalism Era, which lasted from 1905 to 1919, is known as the second era. The Mahatma Gandhi Era, which ran from 1919 to 1947, was the last stage of the freedom fight.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *