Home   »   General Knowledge   »   G20 Countries List 2023

G20 Countries List 2023, Name, Capital, Currency, Leader

G20 Countries

In 2023, the world came together to address global challenges and opportunities through the Group of Twenty, or G20. This international organization consists of the world’s largest economies, and its aim is to foster cooperation and coordination on important economic and political issues. These G20 Countries represent a diverse group, each with its unique strengths and challenges, but they all share a common goal: to work together for a better future. In this article, we will explore the G20 Countries list 2023 and its Name, Capital, Currency, and Leader.

G20 Countries List 2023

The G20 countries list in 2023 comprises 19 nations and the European Union, representing some of the world’s largest economies. These nations convene annually to address global economic and political challenges, fostering cooperation on issues such as financial stability, climate change, and sustainable development. One of the major outcomes of the G20 Summit 2023 is African Union became a permanent member of the G20 Organization. So, from this year G20 turned into a G21 country.

Country Flag Capital Currency
Argentina 1 Buenos Aires Argentine Peso
Australia 2 Canberra Australian Dollar
Brazil 3 Brasília Brazilian Real
Canada 4 Ottawa Canadian Dollar
China 05 Beijing Renminbi (Yuan)
France 5 Paris Euro (EUR)
Germany 6 Berlin Euro (EUR)
India 7 New Delhi Indian Rupee
Indonesia 8 Jakarta Indonesian Rupiah
Italy 9 Rome Euro (EUR)
South Korea 10 Seoul South Korean Won
Japan 11 Tokyo Japanese Yen
Mexico 12 Mexico City Mexican Peso
Russia 13 Moscow Russian Ruble
Saudi Arabia 14 Riyadh Saudi Riyal
South Africa q5 Pretoria (executive), Bloemfontein (judicial), Cape Town (legislative) South African Rand
Turkey 16 Ankara Turkish Lira
United Kingdom 17 London Pound Sterling
United States 18 Washington, D.C. United States Dollar
European Union 19 Brussels (Belgium) Euro (EUR)
African Union African Union Addis Ababa, capital of Ethiopia (headquarters of AU) West African CFA franc, and the Central African CFA franc

G 20 Countries List 2023 President

The G20 countries list in 2023 includes a diverse group of leaders, ranging from Presidents and Prime Ministers to a King, each representing their respective nations on the global stage. Together, they collaborate to address critical global issues and promote international cooperation. 

Country Leader Leader Designation
India Narendra Modi (Host) Prime Minister
Argentina Alberto Fernández President
Australia Anthony Albanese Prime Minister
Brazil Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva President
Canada Justin Trudeau Prime Minister
China Xi Jinping President
France Emmanuel Macron President
Germany Olaf Scholz Chancellor
Indonesia Joko Widodo President
Italy Giorgia Meloni Prime Minister
Japan Fumio Kishida Prime Minister
Mexico Andrés Manuel López Obrador President
Russia Vladimir Putin President
Saudi Arabia Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud King
South Africa Cyril Ramaphosa President
South Korea Yoon Suk-yeol President
Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdoğan President
United Kingdom Rishi Sunak Prime Minister
United States Joe Biden President
European Union Ursula von der Leyen President of the European Commission
European Council Charles Michel President of the European Council
African Union
Azali Assoumani Chairperson of the African Union


Other G20 Related Important Articles
G20 Summit 2023 in Delhi G20 Delhi Declaration 2023
Global Biofuel Alliance at G20 India Middle East Europe Economic Corridor at G20
Bharat Mandapam G20 Venue India’s G20 Presidency
G20 THINQ Quiz Xi Jinping’s Absence at G20 Summit
India Committed to Global South G20 Turns G21 as African Union Becomes Permanent Member

Sharing is caring!

G20 Countries List 2023 FAQs

How many countries are in the G20 list?

Earlier, there were 19 countries and the European Union in the G20 list. but now it turned into a G21 countries after joining of African Union in this list.

Why is Pakistan not in the G20?

Pakistan is not in the G20 because it does not meet the criteria of having one of the world's largest economies.

Where is the headquarters of G20?

There is on permanent headquarters of the G20.

When did India join G20?

India joined the G20 in 1999.

Who will host G20 after India?

Brazil is set to host the G20 after India.

About the Author

I, Sakshi Gupta, am a content writer to empower students aiming for UPSC, PSC, and other competitive exams. My objective is to provide clear, concise, and informative content that caters to your exam preparation needs. I strive to make my content not only informative but also engaging, keeping you motivated throughout your journey!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *