Home   »   Indian Polity   »   Delimitation Commission

Delimitation Commission of India Objectives and Meaning

The Delimitation Commission, also known as the Boundary Commission of India, was established by the Indian government in accordance with the guidelines given by the Delimitation Commissions Act. This commission, which the President of India specifically established, collaborates with the Election Commission of India to uphold the fictitious boundaries of Lok Sabha seats and local legislatures around the nation based on the most recent census. Due to the increasing number of Assembly seats, the Delimitation Commission has filed its report for J&K delimitation.

Delimitation Meaning

In order to reflect population changes based on the most recent census data for the elections, delimitation is the act of redrawing the boundaries for particular geographical seats in a nation. The commission must delimitate constituencies in accordance with the Delimitation Commission Act’s regulations as an impartial panel. It is a high-level or high-power entity that was established by a Parliamentary Act, and since the Commission’s instructions are subject to legal action, no one may challenge them in court. Setting or fixing borders for constituencies across the nation is the goal of same. “One Vote One Value” is the Commission’s only goal. Boundary commission is another name for the delimitation commission. The Delimitation Commission is appointed by the Indian President and collaborates with the Indian Election Commission.

Also Read: Uniform Civil Code

Delimitation Commission Act

Delimitation must be carried out in a specific way for it to perform properly. According to Article 82, the Parliament must enact the Delimitation Act when each cycle of the census is complete. Article 170 of the same Act states that following each census, States are also divided into territorial constituencies. The Central or Union Government must establish a Delimitation Commission after the Act is passed and put into effect. The Commission releases delimitation and related policies whenever it has the authority.

Delimitation Commission Objectives

The Delimitation Commission of India’s primary objective is to define the boundaries or limits of state legislatures and Lok Sabha constituencies to reflect demographic fluctuations. The most current census serves as the basis for redrawing boundaries each year. For instance, the current Lok Sabha constituency delineation is based on the 2001 census. This constituency delineation aids in distributing the number of Lok Sabha seats to the various Indian states as well as those of each state’s legislative legislatures. The Delimitation Commission’s poll results could influence the seats.

Delimitation Commission Functions

In order to choose the number of constituencies and their boundaries and ensure that each constituency has a population that is about equal, the boundaries are determined. Based on the most recent population census results, the Commission is in charge of modifying the representation of the various territorial constituencies in the House of People and the numerous territorial constituencies in the Legislative Assembly of each state. The Commission also decides whether seats for scheduled castes and scheduled tribes groups in areas with significant numbers should be awarded (Articles 330 and 332). If there are disagreements among the Commission members, the decision of the majority will be taken into account. The Indian Gazette, state gazettes, and regional language media are the means by which the Commission makes draught recommendations available to the public. Additionally, it offers open forums where members of the public can express their opinions orally or in writing. The draught proposal may need to be modified if necessary. When the President specifies a date, the final order is published in the Gazettes and goes into force on that day.

Delimitation Commission for Jammu and Kashmir

  • The former J&K state had 111 seats, with 46 in Kashmir, 37 in Jammu, and 4 in Ladakh, plus 24 seats set aside for Pakistan-occupied Kashmir.
  • This led to the creation of the Delimitation Commission 2020 for J&K.
  • The J&K Delimitation Commission recommended a number of adjustments; however, the Union Government only endorsed the following.
  • The J&K Delimitation Commission’s recommendations were accepted by the Union Government via an official announcement.
  • The Jammu & Kashmir region was viewed by the Delimitation Commission as a single Union Territory.
  • There are now seven seats in the parliamentary assembly.
  • One in Kashmir (43 seats) and six in Jammu (currently with 47 seats).
  • 9 seats have been set aside for ST candidates and 7 seats for SC candidates.
  • The treatment is as of Jammu and Kashmir as a single entity and the elimination of regional distinctions.
  • This was accomplished by creating the Anantnag-Rajouri parliamentary district by joining the Kashmiri area of Anantnag with the Jammu regions of Rajouri and Poonch. The Pandit community in Kashmir is eligible for two seats.
  • The Delimitation Commission J&K reserved 24 seats for Pakistan’s occupied portion of Jammu and Kashmir.

Also Read: Parliamentary Form of Government

Delimitation Commission Problems

The primary issue driving the Delimitation was that States would inevitably wind up with more seats in a Parliament uninterested in population control. In such circumstances, the southern states were at a loss. Even in 2008, when the delimitation was based on the census of 2001, the overall number of seats in the Parliament and the Legislative Assembly that was determined as per the 1971 census did not change. After the delimitation, the Constitution of India’s limitations on the number of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha seats has made it possible for one lawmaker to represent growing populations.

Delimitation Commission UPSC

The Indian government established the Delimitation Commission of India, commonly referred to as the Boundary Commission of India, in accordance with the Delimitation Commission Act. The commission’s main duty is to redraw the boundaries of each assembly and Lok Sabha seat in light of a recent census. Although it was anticipated that the limit on the number of Lok Sabha and Assemblies seats would be repealed after the 2001 Census, an amendment delayed it until 2026. This was supported by the prediction that by 2026, the nation’s population growth rate will be uniform. Students can read all the details related to UPSC by visiting the official website of UPSC Online Coaching.

Sharing is caring!

Delimitation Commission FAQs

What is the Delimitation Commission Act?

The present delimitation of parliamentary constituencies has been done on the basis of 2001 census figures under the provisions of Delimitation Act, 2002.

What is the purpose of the Delimitation Commission?

The job of delimitation is assigned to a high power body. Such a body is known as Delimitation Commission or a Boundary Commission.

Who is the current Delimitation Commission?

The Delimitation Commission headed by Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai.

Is Delimitation Commission a statutory body?

Yes, Delimitation commission is a statutory body formed under Delimitation commission act, 1972.

Why is delimitation important?

It is helpful for interpreting the results because the results are influenced by the scope and materials.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *