Home   »   Indian Polity   »   List of Governor of India

Governor of India 2023, Current Governor of India List State-wise

Governor of India

The Governor is the constitutional head of a state and is appointed by the President of India for five years. The Governor enjoys executive, legislative, and judicial powers. Executive powers include:

  • The appointment of the Chief Minister and other ministers.
  • Assent to bills passed by the state legislature.
  • The power to pardon or reduce sentences.

Legislative powers include summoning and proroguing the state legislature and addressing the house. Judicial authorities can grant pardons, reprieves, and suspensions of sentences. The Constitution of India outlines the Governor’s qualifications, appointments, and capabilities.

Current List of Governors of Indian States and the list of Lieutenant Governors of Indian Union Territories are provided along with some other important details related to the post of Governor of India in this article below, an important section of the UPSC Syllabus.

List of Present Governor of India 2023 State-wise

Here is the complete Governor of India List 2023 State-wise given below:

S. No State Took Office State-Wise List of Governors of India
1 Andhra Pradesh 24th February 2023 Shri Justice (Retd.) S. Abdul Nazeer
2 Arunachal Pradesh 16th February 2023 Lt. General Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik, PVSM, UYSM, YSM (Retired)
3 Assam 22nd February 2023 Shri Gulab Chand Kataria
4 Bihar 18th February 2023 Shri Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar
5 Chhattisgarh 22nd February 2023 Shri Biswa Bhusan Harichandan
6 Goa 15th July 2021 Shri P.S. Sreedharan Pillai
7 Gujarat 22nd July 2019 Shri Acharya Dev Vrat
8 Haryana 15th July 2021 Shri Bandaru Dattatraya
9 Himachal Pradesh 18th February 2023 Shri Shiv Pratap Shukla
10 Jharkhand 1st February 2023 Shri C.P. Radhakrishnan
11 Karnataka 11th July 2021 Shri Thaawarchand Gehlot
12 Kerala 6th September 2019 Shri Arif Mohammed Khan
13 Madhya Pradesh 8th July 2021 Shri Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel
14 Maharashtra 18th February 2023 Shri Ramesh Bais
15 Manipur 22nd February 2023 Sushri Anusuiya Uikye
16 Meghalaya 18th February 2023 Shri Phagu Chauhan
17 Mizoram 19th July 2021 Dr. Kambhampati Haribabu
18 Nagaland 20th February 2023 Shri La. Ganesan
19 Odisha 29th May 2018 Prof. Ganeshi Lal
20 Punjab 31 August 2021 Shri Banwarilal Purohit
21 Rajasthan 9th September 2019 Shri Kalraj Mishra
22 Sikkim 16th February 2023 Shri Lakshman Prasad Acharya
23 Tamil Nadu 18th September 2021 Shri R. N. Ravi
24 Telangana 8th September 2019 Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan
25 Tripura 14th July 2021 Shri Satyadeo Narain Arya
26 Uttar Pradesh 29th July 2019 Smt. Anandiben Patel
27 Uttarakhand 15th September 2021 Lt. Gen. Gurmit Singh, PVSM, UYSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd.)
28 West Bengal 23rd November 2022 Dr. C.V. Ananda Bose

List of Lieutenant Governors for UT

Here is the complete List of Lieutenant Governors & Administrators for Union Territories (UT) given below:

S. No Union Territory Lt. Governor
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Admiral (Retd.) D.K. Joshi
2 Chandigarh Banwarilal Purohit
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Shri Praful Patel
4 Lakshadweep Shri Praful Patel
5 Delhi Shri Vinay Kumar Saxena
6 Puducherry Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan
7 Jammu and Kashmir Shri Mnaoj Kumar Sinha
8 Ladakh Shri B.D. Mishra

Check out the linked article on the UPSC Syllabus 2024 Here!

First Governors of India

Candidates can go through the list of first governors of India from the below table:-

State First Governor Term
Andhra Pradesh C. M. Trivedi 1953-1957
Assam Muhammad Saleh Akbar Hydari 1947-1948
Bihar Dr. Rajendra Prasad 1947-1948
Bombay (Now Maharashtra and Gujarat) Raja Maharaj Singh 1947-1948
Madhya Pradesh Dr. Kailash Nath Katju 1952-1957
Mysore (Now Karnataka) Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar 1949-1956
Orissa (Now Odisha) Asaf Ali 1947-1948
Punjab (Now Punjab, Haryana, and Chandigarh) Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi 1947-1952
Rajasthan Sardar Hukam Singh 1948-1952
Uttar Pradesh Hormasji Peroshaw Mody 1947-1952

First Women Governor of India

  • The first woman governor of India was Sarojini Naidu, who served as the Governor of Uttar Pradesh from 15 August 1947 to 2 March 1949.
  • She was a renowned poet, writer and freedom fighter, and played an important role in India’s struggle for independence.
  • Naidu was also the first Indian woman to become the President of the Indian National Congress, and was actively involved in various social and cultural movements.
  • As the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, she worked towards improving the education system and promoting women’s rights.

Governor of India Post Criticism

Experts have criticised the post of Governor in India on the following ground. 

  • Overstepping the Constitutional Limits: Critics argue that Governors have frequently overstepped their constitutional limits, by interfering in the functioning of state governments, bypassing the advice of the Council of Ministers, and acting as agents of the central government. This has often led to political instability and erosion of federal principles.
  • Partisan Actions: Governors have also been accused of acting in a partisan manner, by favoring certain political parties or individuals, and disregarding the principles of neutrality and impartiality. This has been particularly evident in cases where Governors have recommended President’s Rule or disqualified MLAs on grounds that were seen as politically motivated.
  • Delay in Appointments: Another criticism is that Governors have delayed or blocked appointments of judges, bureaucrats, and other officials, leading to a backlog of vacancies and adversely affecting the functioning of state institutions.
  • Excessive Discretion: Some critics argue that Governors have been given excessive discretion under the Constitution, and this has led to arbitrary exercise of powers, lack of transparency, and abuse of authority. For instance, Governors have often granted pardons, commutations, and remissions of sentences, without providing sufficient reasons or following due process.

Reforms Needed for Governor of India Post

There have been several suggestions for reforms related to the post of Governor in India, including:

  • Appointment Process: The appointment process of Governors needs to be more transparent and non-partisan, ensuring that only individuals with impeccable integrity are appointed.
  • Role of Governor: The role of the Governor should be redefined to ensure that the post is not misused for political purposes. The Governor should not act as a representative of the Central Government, but rather as a neutral arbiter.
  • Removal Process: The process for the removal of Governors needs to be clearly defined and non-partisan. It should not be possible for a ruling party to remove a Governor simply because they do not agree with them.
  • Tenure: The tenure of Governors needs to be fixed to ensure that they are not removed arbitrarily. A fixed tenure would also ensure that Governors are not beholden to the ruling party.
  • Powers: The powers of Governors need to be clearly defined, and they should not have powers that are in conflict with the elected government. Governors should act as a bridge between the state government and the central government, and not act as an obstacle to the functioning of the state government.

Sharing is caring!


How many governors are there in India?

There are 28 governors in India.

Who is first lady Governor of India?

Sarojini Naidu was the first lady Governor of India.

Who was the last Governor of British India?

Lord Mountbatten was the last Governor of British India.

Who is the oldest Chief Minister of India?

Manik Sarkar is the oldest Chief Minister of India.

Who is the Governor of two different states?

Currently, no Governor is serving as the Governor of two different states.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *