Home   »   UPSC Calendar 2023   »   States and Capitals of India

States and Capitals of India List, Map, Names of 28 States of India

States and Capitals of India

States and Capitals of India 2022: India is the second most populated nation in the world and the 7th largest country overall. It constitutes a union of states in India with a total of 28 states and 8 Union Territories. India is a union of states, and the head of the executive in each state is the Governor, who serves as the President’s representative. Each state in India has a capital that serves as the administrative, legislative, and judicial centre. In other jurisdictions, the capital serves as the hub for all three activities. It is a territory with a chief minister of its own. A state has a unique, independent government. The State Government is in charge of carrying out state duties such law enforcement, health care, administration, and revenue collection.

List of President of India

States of India & their Capitals

India is a republic with a parliamentary form of government that is a sovereign, secular, democratic nation. Both its natural beauty and cultural heritage are plentiful in this country. The linguistic, cultural, and geographic division of India is based on its States and Capitals of India. After becoming independent, it was divided into the British Provinces and the Princely States. The princely states had three alternatives once India and Pakistan were divided:

  • Remaining independent
  • Joining Pakistan
  • Joining India

Out of the 552 princely states that made up India, 549 became part of it, and the other 3 refused. They did, however, eventually integrate. The Indian Constitution was ratified on November 26, 1949, and it went into effect on January 26, 1950. The States Reorganization Act of 1956 altered the state boundaries of India based on linguistic distinctions.

Neighbouring Countries of India

States and Capitals of India List

Here are the States and Capitals of India 2022:



Founded on

Andhra Pradesh Amaravati 1 November 1956
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 20 February 1987
Assam Dispur 26 January 1950
Bihar Patna 22 March 1912
Chhattisgarh Raipur 1 November 2000
Goa Panaji 30 May 1987
Gujarat Gandhinagar 1 May 1960
Haryana Chandigarh 1 November 1966
Himachal Pradesh Shimla 25 January 1971
Jharkhand Ranchi 15 November 2000
Karnataka Bengaluru 1 November 1956
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 1 November 1956
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 1 November 1956
Maharashtra Mumbai 1 May 1960
Manipur Imphal 21 January 1972
Meghalaya Shillong 21 January 1972
Mizoram Aizawl 20 February 1987
Nagaland Kohima 1 December 1963
Odisha Bhubaneswar 26 January 1950
Punjab Chandigarh 1 November 1966
Rajasthan Jaipur 1 November 1956
Sikkim Gangtok 16 May 1975
Tamil Nadu Chennai 26 January 1950
Telangana Hyderabad 2 January 2014
Tripura Agartala 21 January 1972
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 26 January 1950
Uttarakhand Dehradun 9 November 2000
West Bengal Kolkata 1 November 1956

National Symbols of India

28 States & Capitals of India

Currently, India has a total of 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The administrative, legislative, and judicial capitals are located in each Indian state. Some claim that one capital houses the three responsibilities. A Chief Minister oversees each state’s government. Here, we’ve listed all the Indian States, Union Territories, and their respective capitals. Three states, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, and Uttarakhand, have separate capitals for their summer and winter legislative sessions.

According to the preamble of the Indian constitution, India is a republican, socialist, secular, and independent state. A democratic parliamentary system is used in India. In India, there are 28 states and 8 union territories. The Indian President is in charge of the Union Territories. Both the President and the Governors serve as the executive branches of their respective states. State governments resemble the federal government in many ways. Chief Ministers oversee the state governments.

States and Capitals of India

States and Capitals of India State Formation

The 1956 creation of the States Reorganization Act was a major factor in the semantic reorganization of the borders of Indian states. Later, three different sorts of states—part A states, part B states, and part C states—were combined to form a single type of state, per a revision to the Indian Constitution.

  • States that were once British India’s governors’ regions make up Part A.
  • States that were once royal states make up Part B.
  • States that included certain princely states as well as the provinces of the former chief commissioner make up Part C

The Act is still recognized as an authoritative player in imposing the current shape and forms to the Indian states, despite the fact that significant alterations have been made to the state boundaries since 1947.

Wildlife Sanctuaries of India

8 Union Territories of India

Here’s 8 Union Territories of India 2022:

S.NO Union Territories Capital CM Lt. Governor
1 Andaman and Nicobar Island Port Blair NA D K Joshi
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh NA Banwarilal Purohit
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman NA Praful Patel
4 Delhi Delhi Arvind Kejriwal Vinai Kumar Saxena
5 Ladakh NA NA Radha Krishna Mathur
6 Lakshadweep Kavaratti NA Praful Patel
7 Jammu and Kashmir NA NA Manoj Sinha
8 Puducherry Pondicherry N. Rangaswamy Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan

States and Capitals of India FAQs

Q Is it 28 or 29 states in India?

Ans. There are 28 states in India, not 29. The Union Territories of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh were most recently formed out of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. Ladakh was made into a separate Union Territory and split off from Jammu & Kashmir.

Q What is the name first of state of India?

Ans. Andhra Pradesh was the first state in India to be created on the basis of a language. It originated from Madras State’s northern Telugu-speaking districts. According to the 1956 States Reorganization Act, new states were either created or reorganized along linguistic lines.

Q Which state is removed from 29 states?

Ans. Jammu and Kashmir lost its status as a state on October 31, 2019, and it became a union territory. Ladakh was made into a separate Union Territory and split off from Jammu & Kashmir. Telangana was divided from Andhra Pradesh on June 2, 2014.

Q What are the states of India in 2022?

Ans. According to the most recent information for the year 2022, India has 28 states and 8 union territories (UTs). India has administrative, legislative, and judicial capitals for each state and union territory. There is a Chief Minister in charge of each state.

Q How many cities are in India?

Ans. India has 48 cities with a population of one million or more, 405 cities with a population of between 100,000 and one million, and 2500 cities with a population of between 10,000 and 100,000. With a population, Mumbai is the biggest city in India.

Major Incidents in Indian History

  1. Quit India Movement
  2. Chauri Chaura Incident
  3. Jallianwala Bagh Massacre
  4. Green Revolution in India

Sharing is caring!

Download your free content now!


We have received your details!

We'll share General Studies Study Material on your E-mail Id.

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

We'll share General Studies Study Material on your E-mail Id.

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Studies PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.