Home   »   UPSC Syllabus 2024   »   Chief Ministers of Gujarat

Chief Ministers of Gujarat 2023, All Gujarat CM List

Chief Ministers of Gujarat

In India, the government is led by the state’s chief minister. The nomination of the Chief Minister and other Ministers by the Governor is covered in Article 164 of the Indian Constitution. In 1960, the state of Gujarat was created by separating the then-Bombay along a linguistic line. Jivraj Narayan Mehta served as Gujarat’s first Chief Minister and was the first member of the Indian National Congress to lead the state after it was established.

Gujarat was established on 1 May 1960 after the Bombay State’s Gujarati-speaking provinces were separated from it as a result of the Mahagujarat agitation. Jivraj Narayan Mehta of the Indian National Congress served as the state’s first Chief Minister. Vijay Rupani and his Cabinet left Gujarat, and Bhupendra Patel was sworn in as the new chief minister.

List of President of India

List of Chief Ministers of Gujarat 1947-2023

Here’s the complete updated Chief Ministers of Gujarat (1947-2023):


Chief Minister



1 Bhupendrabhai Patel 13 Sep 2021 Present
2 Vijay Rupani 26 Dec 2017 13 Sep 2021
3 Vijay Rupani 07 Aug 2016 26 Dec 2017
4 Anandiben Patel 22 May 2014 07 Aug 2016
5 Narendra Modi 20 Dec 2012 22 May 2014
6 Narendra Modi 23 Dec 2007 20 Dec 2012
7 Narendra Modi 22 Dec 2002 22 Dec 2007
8 Narendra Modi 07 Oct 2001 22 Dec 2002
9 Keshubhai Patel 04 Mar 1998 06 Oct 2001
10 Dilip Parikh 28 Oct 1997 04 Mar 1998
11 Shankersinh Vaghela 23 Oct 1996 27 Oct 1997
12 President’s rule 19 Sep 1996 23 Oct 1996
13 Suresh Mehta 21 Oct 1995 19 Sep 1996
14 Keshubhai Patel 14 Mar 1995 21 Oct 1995
15 Chhabildas Mehta 17 Feb 1994 13 Mar 1995
16 Chimanbhai Patel 25 Oct 1990 17 Feb 1994
17 Chimanbhai Patel 04 Mar 1990 25 Oct 1990
18 Madhav Singh Solanki 10 Dec 1989 03 Mar 1990
19 Amarsinh Chaudhary 06 Jul 1985 09 Dec 1989
20 Madhav Singh Solanki 11 Mar 1985 06 Jul 1985
21 Madhav Singh Solanki 07 Jun 1980 10 Mar 1985
22 President’s rule 17 Feb 1980 06 Jun 1980
23 Babubhai J. Patel 11 Apr 1977 17 Feb 1980
24 Madhav Singh Solanki 24 Dec 1976 10 Apr 1977
25 President’s rule 12 Mar 1976 24 Dec 1976
26 Babubhai J. Patel 18 Jun 1975 12 Mar 1976
27 President’s rule 09 Feb 1974 18 Jun 1975
28 Chimanbhai Patel 17 Jul 1973 09 Feb 1974
29 Ghanshyam Oza 17 Mar 1972 17 Jul 1973
30 President’s rule 13 May 1971 17 Mar 1972
31 Hitendra Kanaiyalal 03 Apr 1967 12 May 1971
32 Hitendra Kanaiyalal 19 Sep 1965 03 Apr 1967
33 Balwantrai Mehta 19 Sep 1963 19 Sep 1965
34 Jivraj Narayan Mehta 03 Mar 1962 19 Sep 1963
35 Jivraj Narayan Mehta 01 May 1960 03 Mar 1962

List of Vice Presidents of India

Memorable Chief Ministers of Gujarat

Jivraj Narayan Mehta

Gujarat’s first chief minister was Jivraj Narayan Mehta. He was a medical student who finished his postgraduate work in London. Jivraj Narayan Mehta joined the freedom movement after his return from London and briefly worked as Mahatma Gandhi’s personal physician. He held a number of important positions after independence, including that of the first “Dewan” (Prime Minister) of the former Baroda State. After finishing his term as Chief Minister, he later served from 1963 to 1966 as India’s High Commissioner to the United Kingdom.

List of Chief Ministers of India

Narendra Modi

The 14th and current Prime Minister of India, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, served as Gujarat’s Chief Minister from 2001 to 2014. In 2001, he was appointed Chief Minister due to Keshubhai Patel’s deteriorating health. In addition, he held the title of Gujarat’s Chief Minister the longest. But after being chosen as Prime Minister in 2014, he gave up his position as Chief Minister. He was followed as Gujarat’s Chief Minister by Anandiben Patel.

List of Prime Minister of India

Anandiben Patel

From 2014 to 2016, Anandiben Patel held the position of Gujarat’s first female chief minister. From 2002 to 2007, she served as the BJP’s Cabinet Minister for Education. On August 1, 2016, the day before she turned 75, she announced her resignation as chief minister. She now holds the position of Governor of Uttar Pradesh.

Chief Ministers of Tamilnadu

Bhupendra Patel

Gujarat’s current chief minister is Bhupendra Rajnikant Patel. Before being chosen as the MLA of Gujarat, he began his political career in Ahmedabad’s municipal councils. On September 12, 2021, Bhupendra Patel was overwhelmingly chosen to lead the BJP legislative party and serve as the Chief Minister of Gujarat following the resignation of Vijay Rupani.

Chief Ministers of Kerala

Chief Ministers of Gujarat UPSC

  • Jivraj Narayan Mehta served as the state’s first chief minister.
  • Gujarat’s longest-serving Chief Minister is Prime Minister Narendra Modi (2001-2014).
  • Anandiben Patel is the state’s first female chief minister.

Sharing is caring!


Who is the first chief minister of Gujarat?

Following the Mahagujarat Movement, the Gujarati-speaking areas of Bombay State were combined to form the state of Gujarat on May 1, 1960. INC member Jivraj Narayan Mehta served as the first chief minister.

Which party is CM in Gujarat?

On September 13, 2021, Shri Bhupendra Rajnikant Patel was sworn in as Gujarat's 17th Chief Minister. In the 2017 Gujarat assembly elections, Shri Bhupendrabhai Patel was elected as an MLA from the Ghatlodia constituency (Ahmedabad), where he started his political career as a member of the Memnagar municipality.

How many years Modi Chief Minister in Gujarat?

From 2001 to 2014, Modi served as Gujarat's chief minister. He is a Varanasi-born member of parliament. He belongs to both the right-wing Hindu nationalist paramilitary volunteer Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Who is the governor of Gujarat 2022?

Governor Acharya Devvrat is Governor of Gujarat.

Who is the first female chief minister of Gujarat?

Anandiben Mafatbhai Patel, an Indian politician who was born on November 21, 1941, is now the governor of Uttar Pradesh. She also held the governorships of Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh. She served as Gujarat's first female chief minister.

Who is the education minister of Gujarat?

Jitendrabhai Savjibhai Vaghani was appointed as a education minister when Bhupendra Patel became Chief Minister in September 2021.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *