Home   »   UPSC Syllabus 2024   »   Districts of Tamil Nadu

Districts of Tamil Nadu List, Map, Names, Total Area

Districts of Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu, a southern Indian state, was formed in 1956 with 13 districts. The state has a total area of 130,058 square kilometres and a population of 72,147,030 people. Tamil Nadu is divided into administrative districts as well as other subdivisions. There are currently 38 districts in Tamil Nadu.

You can use the information provided here to determine how many districts exist in Tamil Nadu. We have shared the names of all the state’s old and new districts, as well as the district map and demographic information.

Tamil Nadu is divided into 38 districts. Each of these districts is led by an Indian Administrative Service officer. For better administration, the state districts are divided into subdivisions, municipalities, and blocks. We have provided an overview of Tamil Nadu’s districts here.

Districts in Tamil Nadu Important Facts
Total District in Tamil Nadu State 38
Date of Formation 1 November 1956
State Capital Chennai
Total Area 130,058 km2
Total Population 72,147,030

Read More: Districts of Karnataka List

Total Districts in Tamil Nadu

The number of Districts in Tamil Nadu has changed several times in recent years. The total number of districts in the state is currently 38. The state’s most recent district was added in 2020. Tamil Nadu has not created a new district since then. We have provided a brief history of Tamil Nadu districts here.

  • The Chennai district’s border area was expanded on January 5, 2018.
  • Tenkasi district was separated from Tirunelveli on November 22, 2019.
  • Kallakurichi district was separated from Viluppuram district on November 26, 2019.
  • Tirupattur and Ranipet districts of Tamil Nadu were separated from the Vellore district on November 29, 2019.
  • Chengalpattu district was separated from Kanchipuram on November 30, 2019.
  • Mayiladuthurai district was separated from Nagapattinam district on March 24, 2020.

Read about: Union Territories

District of Tamil Nadu Map

To understand the districts of Tamil Nadu better, it is necessary to understand their geographical location within the state of Tamil Nadu. The Tamilnadu District Map is provided here to assist you in identifying the same.


Read about: Districts of India

List of Districts of Tamil Nadu

We’ve listed the names of all 38 districts in Tamil Nadu, as well as the dates each district was established. Check out the table below for more information on the districts of Tamil Nadu.

No District Name in Tamil Nadu Headquarters Date of Formation
1. Ariyalur Ariyalur 23 November 2007
2. Chengalpattu Chengalpattu 29 November 2019
3. Chennai Chennai 1 November 1956
4. Coimbatore Coimbatore 1 November 1956
5. Cuddalore Cuddalore 30 September 1993
6. Dharmapuri Dharmapuri 2 October 1965
7. Dindigul Dindigul 15 September 1985
8. Erode Erode 31 August 1979
9. Kallakurichi Kallakurichi 26 November 2019
10. Kanchipuram Kanchipuram 1 July 1997
11. Kanniyakumari Nagercoil 1 November 1956
12. Karur Karur 30 September 1995
13. Krishnagiri Krishnagiri 9 February 2004
14. Madurai Madurai 1 November 1956
15. Mayiladuthurai Mayiladuthurai 28 December 2020
16. Nagapattinam Nagapattinam 18 October 1991
17. Namakkal Namakkal 1 January 1997
18. Nilgiris Ooty 1 November 1956
19. Perambalur Perambalur 30 September 1995
20. Pudukkottai Pudukkottai 14 January 1974
21. Ramanathapuram Ramanathapuram 1 November 1956
22. Ranipet Ranipet 28 November 2019
23. Salem Salem 1 November 1956
24. Sivagangai Sivagangai 15 March 1985
25. Tenkasi Tenkasi 22 November 2019
26. Thanjavur Thanjavur 1 November 1956
27. Theni Theni 25 July 1996
28. Thoothukudi Thoothukudi 20 October 1986
29. Tiruchirappalli Tiruchirappalli 1 November 1956
30. Tirunelveli Tirunelveli 1 November 1956
31. Tirupathur Tirupattur 28 November 2019
32. Tiruppur Tiruppur 22 February 2009
33. Tiruvallur Tiruvallur 1 July 1997
34. Tiruvannamalai Tiruvannamalai 30 September 1989
35. Tiruvarur Thiruvarur 18 October 1991
36. Vellore Vellore 30 September 1989
37. Viluppuram Viluppuram 30 September 1993
38. Virudhunagar Virudhunagar 15 March 1985

Districts of Tamil Nadu Administrative Structure

Tamil Nadu’s districts are divided into numerous subdivisions. We have provided information about the state’s administrative structure here.

Administrative Structure of Districts in Tamil Nadu
Revenue Divisions 87
Taluks 310
Municipal Corporations 15
Municipalities 121
Blocks 385
Village Panchayats 12,618
Town Panchayats 528

Sharing is caring!


Which is the 38 district in Tamil Nadu?

Nagapattinam district has been carved out as the state's 38th district. Mayiladuthurai, Sirkazhi, Tarangambadi, and Kuthalam are the four taluks in the new district.

How many districts are there in Tamil Nadu?

Tamil Nadu is one of Southern India's most populous states. Tamil Nadu is divided into 38 districts.

Which is the 2 biggest district in Tamilnadu?

For administrative purposes, the state of Tamil Nadu is further divided into districts. Viluppuram is the largest district in Tamil Nadu, covering an area of 7194 km2, while Chennai is the smallest, covering an area of 175 km2.

Which is the smallest district in TN?

Kanniyakumari district is Tamil Nadu's smallest district. Despite being the smallest in terms of area (1672/Sq.Km), it has the highest population density in Tamil Nadu (1119/Sq.Km) after Chennai.

What is the 30 district name?

Yadgir is the 30th district of Tamil Nadu.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *