Home   »   Current Indian Deputy Chief Ministers

Current Deputy Chief Ministers of India, Check Complete list

The position of Deputy Chief Minister (DYCM) in India is a key role within the state government, typically the second-highest executive office in a state’s council of ministers. While the position is not a constitutional office and generally does not carry specific powers, it is often used to ensure political stability and strength within coalition governments. A deputy cm usually holds a significant cabinet portfolio, such as home minister or finance minister.

Current Deputy CM

14 Indian states have deputy chief ministers. Some states have more than one deputy cm to balance the coalition dynamics. Uttarakhand, one state, and Puducherry, one union territory, never had a deputy chief minister. Below is a detailed list of the current deputy chief ministers, their parties, the chief ministers they serve under, and their tenure.

List of Current Indian Deputy Chief Ministers State wise

State Deputy Chief Ministers Took Office Party Chief Minister Alliance
Deputy chief minister of Andhra Pradesh Pawan Kalyan June 12, 2024 Jana Sena Party N. Chandrababu Naidu NDA
Deputy chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh Chowna Mein July 16, 2016 Bharatiya Janata Party Pema Khandu NDA
Deputy chief minister of Bihar Samrat Chaudhary, Vijay Kumar Sinha January 28, 2024 Janata Dal (United), Bharatiya Janata Party Nitish Kumar NDA
Deputy chief minister of Chhattisgarh Arun Sao, Vijay Sharma December 13, 2023 Bharatiya Janata Party Vishnu Deo Sai NDA
Deputy chief minister of Himachal Pradesh Mukesh Agnihotri December 11, 2022 Indian National Congress Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu INDIA
Deputy chief minister of Karnataka D. K. Shivakumar May 20, 2023 Indian National Congress Siddaramaiah INDIA
Deputy chief minister of Madhya Pradesh Rajendra Shukla, Jagdish Devda December 13, 2023 Bharatiya Janata Party Mohan Yadav NDA
Deputy chief minister of Maharashtra Devendra Fadnavis, Ajit Pawar June 30, 2022 (Fadnavis), July 2, 2023 (Pawar) Bharatiya Janata Party (Fadnavis), Nationalist Congress Party (Pawar) Eknath Shinde NDA
Meghalaya Prestone Tynsong, Sniawbhalang Dhar March 6, 2018 (Tynsong), March 7, 2023 (Dhar) National People’s Party Conrad Sangma NDA
Deputy chief minister of Nagaland Yanthungo Patton, T. R. Zeliang March 9, 2018 (Patton), March 7, 2023 (Zeliang) Bharatiya Janata Party (Patton), Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (Zeliang) Neiphiu Rio NDA
Deputy chief minister of Odisha Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo, Pravati Parida June 12, 2024 Bharatiya Janata Party Mohan Charan Majhi NDA
Deputy chief minister of Rajasthan Diya Kumari, Prem Chand Bairwa December 15, 2023 Bharatiya Janata Party Bhajan Lal Sharma NDA
Deputy chief minister of Telangana Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka December 7, 2023 Indian National Congress Revanth Reddy INDIA
Deputy chief minister of Uttar Pradesh
Keshav Prasad Maurya, Brajesh Pathak March 19, 2017 (Maurya), March 25, 2022 (Pathak) Bharatiya Janata Party Yogi Adityanath NDA

Female Deputy CM

 There are two women Deputy CM in India

  • Pravati Parida From Odisha 
  • Diya Kumari from Rajasthan

Longest Deputy CM

Chowna Mein is the longest-serving incumbent Deputy Chief Minister in India

Constitutional Provisions for Deputy Chief Ministers

The position of Deputy CM is not mentioned in the Indian Constitution. The role is not constitutionally defined or mandated.

Creation of the Position

  • State Legislature and Political Discretion: The creation of the Dy Chief Minister’s position is at the discretion of the state’s political leadership and is often a result of coalition agreements or political strategy rather than constitutional requirement.


  • Similar to Other Ministers: They appointed in the same manner as other ministers. The Chief Minister recommends their appointment, and they are formally appointed by the Governor of the state.

Powers and Responsibilities

  • No Distinct Constitutional Powers: They does not have any distinct constitutional powers separate from other cabinet ministers. Their powers and responsibilities are determined by the Chief Minister and the state government.
  • Portfolio Management: Often assigned important portfolios such as finance, home, or public works, similar to other senior cabinet ministers.

Role in State Governance

  • Second-in-Command: Though not constitutionally recognized, the Deputy CM acts as the second-in-command in the state government, assisting the Chief Minister in governance and administrative duties.
  • Coalition Stability: The role is significant in coalition governments for maintaining political stability and balance among coalition partners.

Oath of Office

  • Same as Other Ministers: They takes the same oath of office and secrecy as other ministers, as prescribed in the Third Schedule of the Constitution.

Removal and Resignation

  • Same Provisions as Other Ministers: The Deputy Chief Minister can be removed from office by the Governor on the advice of the Chief Minister, or they can resign from their position. The process is identical to that of other state ministers.

Important Facts on Indian Deputy Chief Ministers

  • Position: Second-in-command to the Chief Minister in state governments.
  • Function: Ensures political stability and balance, especially in coalition governments.
  • Portfolios: Often holds significant portfolios like home, finance, or public works.
  • Non-Constitutional: The position is not constitutionally mandated but is politically significant.

Current Distribution

  • States with DYCMs: 14 out of 28 states have deputy chief ministers.
  • Multiple DYCMs: Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Odisha, Rajasthan, and Uttar Pradesh each have two DYCMs.
  • States without DYCMs: Uttarakhand and Puducherry have never had a deputy chief minister.

Political Representation

  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): 15 deputy chief ministers.
  • Indian National Congress (INC): 3 deputy chief ministers.
  • Other Parties: Jana Sena Party, National People’s Party, Nationalist Congress Party, and Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party each have one deputy chief minister.

Recent Appointments

  • Recent DYCMs: Pawan Kalyan (Andhra Pradesh), Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida (Odisha), appointed on June 12, 2024.

Sharing is caring!

Current Indian Deputy Chief Ministers FAQs

How many deputy CM can be in a state?

Out of these, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Odisha, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh have two deputy chief ministers each. No other state and union territory has more than one deputy chief minister in office.

Who is the female deputy CM?

Pravati Parida, securing victory by 4,588 votes from Nimapara, triumphed over BJD leader Dilip Kumar Nayak to become one of the deputy chief ministers.

About the Author

Greetings! I'm Piyush, a content writer at StudyIQ. I specialize in creating enlightening content focused on UPSC and State PSC exams. Let's embark on a journey of discovery, where we unravel the intricacies of these exams and transform aspirations into triumphant achievements together!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *