Home   »   General Knowledge   »   Asia Cup Winners List 2023

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2023, India Won Asia Cup 2023

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup Winners List: One of the most well-known cricket competitions in Asia is the Asia Cup. Every two years, the International Cricket Council (ICC) hosts the Asia Cup. The 16th Asia Cup was held in the Pakistan and Sri Lanka from August 31 to September 17, 2023. Six teams or nations took part in the 2023 Asia Cup. India won the 2023 Asia Cup championship. India won the first Asia Cup, which was held in the United Arab Emirates in 1984. Sri Lanka finished in second place. The winners of the Asia Cup from 1984 to 2023, together with the runners-up and the host nation, are listed below.

India has won the Asia Cup 2023 after defeating Sri Lanka in the finals of the Asia Cup 2023, its is the 8th time India has lifted the Asia Cup which is the highest among all the teams that participates in this tournament.

Asia Cup Cricket Winners List

The most recent addition to the list of Asia Cup winner is India. The Asian Cricket Council hosts the Asia Cup, an international men’s cricket competition, every two years. The goal of the Asian Cricket Council, which was founded in 1983, is to promote goodwill among Asian countries. India has appeared on the Asia Cup Winners List seven times since the competition’s establishment.

The most recent Asia Cup was held in the Pakistan and Sri Lanka. India won the championship game and finished the competition as the only unbeaten team. Learn more about the Asia Cup Winners List, from 1984–2023 runners-up, and country-specific winners here.

Asia Cup 2023 Schedule

Pakistan hosted the Asia Cup 2023, which will feature 12 ODI games and 1 championship game. Every two years, the Asia Cup is hosted as a part of the International Cricket Council’s Future Tour Programs. The schedule of the Asia Cup is mentioned below:

Event Asia Cup 2023
Organizing Body ICC (International Cricket Council)
Starting Date 31st August 2023
Final Match 17th September 2023
Country Hosting Asia Cup 2023 Sri Lanka  and Pakistan

The Asia Cup is a continental cricket competition conducted every two years and is put on by the Asian Cricket Council. Currently, it is the only continental cricket competition in existence. It is played in either ODI or T20 format every two years. India won the Asia Cup 2023 competition, which was recently held in the Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

  • It takes place after every 2 years
  • Only Asian country takes part in this tournament.
  • The country takes part in it are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Nepal.

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2023

A new champion is added to the list of Asia Cup victors every two years. Indian defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the recent competition hosted in the Sri Lanka. The complete list of Asia Cup winners from 1984 until 2023 is available here. All of the nations that have won the competition since its start are listed by name.

Year Winner Runner Host
1984 India Sri Lanka UAE
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan Sri Lanka
1988 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1990-91 India Sri Lanka India
1995 India Sri Lanka UAE
1997 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2004 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2008 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2010 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh Bangladesh
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan Bangladesh
2016 India Bangladesh Bangladesh
2018 India Bangladesh UAE
2022 Sri Lanka Pakistan UAE
2023 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka

Asia Cup Winners List Country-Wise

In 16th rounds, Team India won the Asia Cup the most—8th times—followed by Sri Lanka (6 times) and Pakistan (2 times). The three remaining nations, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong, have not yet registered on the roster of Asia Cup champions. The winners of the Asia Cup are listed below by nation.

Country Year of Winning Winning Team Runner Up Team
India 1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018,2023 8 times 3 times
Sri Lanka 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022 6 times 7 times
Pakistan 2000, 2012 2 times 3 times
Bangladesh 3 times
Hong Kong

Women’s Asia Cup Winners List

India has won the Women’s Asia Cup title seven times, making it the most successful team in the tournament’s history. The first four editions of the Women’s Asia Cup, from 2004 to 2008, were played in the ODI format; however, from 2012 till the present, all subsequent editions have been played in the T20I format. India Women have a history of dominating this competition, having taken home seven of the trophy’s eight appearances.

Year of Tournament Winner Runner Up
2004 India Sri Lanka
2005-06 India Sri Lanka
2006 India Sri Lanka
2008 India Sri Lanka
2012 India Pakistan
2016 India Pakistan
2018 Bangladesh India
2022 India Sri Lanka

Captain of Asia Cup Winners List

The Asian Cricket Council established the Asia Cup as a cricket competition between Asian nations (ACC). It was supposed to be performed twice every two years. India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, the three Asian cricketing superpowers, competed in the inaugural Asia Cup in 1984. Because of the strained political ties between Asian nations, it has been one of the most politically charged cricket events. We have had 16 editions of this competition since it began, including 14 ODI tournaments and 2 T20 tournaments. Because of the fact that a T20 World Cup will be held in Australia after it, the 15th edition of 2022 was contested as a T20 competition in the UAE.

Year Winning Team Winning Captain
1984 India Sunil Gavaskar
1986 Sri Lanka Duleep Mendis
1988 India Dilip Vengsarker
1990-91 India Md Azharuddin
1995 India Md Azharuddin
1997 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
2000 Pakistan Moin Khan
2004 Sri Lanka Marven Attapattu
2008 Sri Lanka Mahila Jayawardane
2010 India MS Dhoni
2012 Pakistan Mishba Ul Haq
2014 Sri Lanka Angelo Methews
2016 India MS Dhoni
2018 India Rohit Sharma
2022 Sri Lanka Dasun Shanaka
2023 India Rohit Sharma


Sharing is caring!

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2023 FAQs

Who is Asia Cup final 2023 winner?

Team India won Asia Cup final 2023. Mohammed Siraj's incredible bowling performance, which resulted in 6 wickets, helped India upset Sri Lanka by 10 wickets.

Which team won most Asia Cup?

Team India is the most time winning team of Asia Cup. With this 2023 Asia cup win, India won the 8 times Asia Cup.

What is the prize of Asia Cup 2023?

India vs Sri Lanka, Asia Cup 2023 Final Prize Money: India, Asia Cup 2023 winners, were awarded Rs 1.25 Crore approximately.

Who is man of the series in Asia Cup 2023?

Kuldeep Yadav has won the Man of the series Title in the Asia cup 2023

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *