Home   »   General Knowledge   »   Nobel Prize 2022 Winners List

Nobel Prize 2022 Winners List, Complete List of 2022 Nobel Prize Winners

Noble Prize 2022

The announcement of the Noble Prize 2022 took place on October 3, 2022, and continued till October 10, 2022. The Noble Prize 2022 winners received a cash prize of 10,00,000 Swedish Krona. The Nobel Prize was given out for the first time in 1901, and since then, 989 laureates and organisations have received it 615 times.

In 2022, the Nobel Prizes were given to fourteen laureates for their contributions that had the most positive impact on humanity. Their research encompasses everything including war crime documentation, click chemistry, paleogenomics etc.

Read More: List of Bharat Ratna Awards

Noble Prize 2022 Winners List

The recipients of the Nobel Prize 2022 are listed below. Let’s have a look at the Nobel Prize 2022 Winners List.

Nobel Prize 2022 Winners List

Nobel Prize Category Nobel Prize Laureates Awarded For
Nobel Prize in Physics
  1. Alain Aspect
  2. John F Clauser
  3. Anton Zeilinger
For their work on entangled photon experiments, proving the violation of Bell inequalities, and developing the field of quantum information science.
Nobel Prize in Chemistry
  1. Carolyn Bertozzi
  2. Morten Meldal
  3. Barry Sharpless
For the establishment of the foundations of click chemistry & bioorthogonal chemistry and also took chemistry into the functionalism era.
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine Svante Paabo For his research on the extinct hominid genomes and the evolution of humans.
Nobel Prize in Literature Annie Ernaux For the bravery and clinical acuity with which she reveals the origins, estrangements, and collective restrictions of personal memory.
Noble Prize in Economics
  1. Ben S. Bernanke
  2. Douglas W. Diamond
  3. Philip H. Dybvig
For research on financial crises and banks.
Nobel Peace Prize
  1. Ales Bialiatski
  2. Memorial Human Rights Organization (Russia)
  3. Center for Civil Liberties Human Rights Organisation (Ukrainian)
For encouraging the right to criticise power and protect the citizen’s fundamental rights.

Read about: Gallantry Awards in India

Nobel Prize List From 1901 to 2022

Nobel Prize Number of Prizes Number of Laureates Awarded to one Laureate Shared by two Laureates Shared by three Laureates
Physics 116 222 47 32 37
Chemistry 114 189 63 24 26
Medicine 113 225 40 34 39
Literature 115 119 111 4
Peace 104 110+30 69 31 3
Economic Sciences 54 92 25 20 9
Total 615 989 355 146 114
Nobel Prize Facts For UPSC
  • Since the beginning in 1901, there have been a few years in which no Nobel Prizes have been given. There have been 49 times in all. the majority of them during World War I (1914–1918) and World War II (1939-1945).
  • Malala Yousafzai (age 17 years then) is the youngest Nobel Prize laureate among all categories who received the peace prize in 2014 with Kailash Satyarthi.
  • Between 1901 and 2022 the Nobel Prize have been awarded 61 times to women.

List of Noble Prize Winners 2022

Sharing is caring!

Nobel Prize 2022 Winners FAQs

Who got the Nobel Peace Prize in 2022?

Ales Bialiatski, a Belarusian human rights activist, Memorial, a Russian human rights organisation, and Center for Civil Liberties, a Ukrainian human rights organisation, share the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize. The recipients of the Peace Prize stand in for civic society in their respective nations.

Who has won 3 Nobel Peace Prizes?

The International Committee of the Red Cross received three times Nobel Peace Prize awards in 1917, 1944, and 1963, and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees received two times in 1954 and 1981.

Who won the Indian Nobel Prize in 2022?

Pratik Sinha and Mohammad Zubair, two Indians were shortlisted as contenders for the Nobel Peace Prize 2022.

Who won the Nobel Prize twice?

John Bardeen received the Nobel Prize in Physics twice, and Frederick Sanger and Karl Barry Sharpless received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. Marie Curie (Physics and Chemistry) and Linus Pauling  (Chemistry and Peace) are two laureates who have received two awards, although not in the same category.

Who has refused a Nobel Prize?

The Nobel Prize in Literature, which was presented to the 59-year-old author Jean-Paul Sartre in October 1964, was rejected. He claimed that he had always declined to be awarded official titles and did not want to institutionalise.

Who was the 1st Nobel Prize winner?

In 1901, the Nobel Prizes were started. Frédéric Passy of France and Jean Henry Dunant of Switzerland shared the peace prize that year.

About the Author

I, Sakshi Gupta, am a content writer to empower students aiming for UPSC, PSC, and other competitive exams. My objective is to provide clear, concise, and informative content that caters to your exam preparation needs. I strive to make my content not only informative but also engaging, keeping you motivated throughout your journey!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *