Home   »   List of Chief Ministers of Telangana

List of Chief Ministers of Telangana

Chief Minister of Telangana: The Chief Minister of Telangana, as per the Indian Constitution, holds de facto executive power in the state. Following legislative elections, the governor invites the party with a majority to form the government, and the appointed chief minister serves a term of five years or until the next elections. No term limits apply, provided the chief minister maintains the assembly’s confidence. If confidence is lost, a new coalition can claim government formation, or fresh elections may be called. Telangana, established in 2014, has seen two chief ministers: K. Chandrashekar Rao from the Bharat Rashtra Samithi and the current incumbent, A. Revanth Reddy of the Indian National Congress since December 7, 2023.

We’re now on WhatsAppClick to Join

Chief Ministers of Telangana

Since June 2, 2014, Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao, widely known as KCR and born on February 17, 1954, has been the inaugural and continuous Chief Minister of Telangana. His significant political presence stems from his role as the founder and leader of India’s Bharat Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party. KCR played a pivotal and instrumental role in championing the Telangana movement, advocating fervently for the state’s separate identity. His dedicated efforts culminated in the historic establishment of Telangana as an independent state. KCR’s leadership is characterized by a deep commitment to the welfare and development of Telangana, addressing critical issues such as irrigation, agriculture, and regional identity.

List of Chief Ministers of Telangana (2014-2023)

The leadership of Telangana has been shaped by key individuals who have held the position of Chief Minister from 2014 to 2023. Serving as the head of the Cabinet, the Chief Minister is entrusted with the responsibility of presiding over and directing its meetings, thereby playing a pivotal role in the decision-making process for major policy matters.

From June 2, 2014, onwards, K. Chandrashekar Rao, often referred to as KCR, has been the continuous Chief Minister of Telangana. In this capacity, he has wielded significant influence over the state’s governance, steering crucial policy initiatives and addressing diverse issues affecting Telangana’s socio-economic landscape. As the leader of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party, KCR’s tenure has been marked by a dedicated focus on regional development, agriculture, irrigation, and the overall progress of the state. His sustained leadership underscores the continuity and stability in Telangana’s governance during the specified period.


.No. Chief Minister Tenure Party
1. K. Chandrashekar Rao 2 June 2014 – 12 December 2018 Telangana Rashtra Samithi
2. K. Chandrashekar Rao 13 December 2018 – 03 December 2023 Telangana Rashtra Samithi
3 Anumula Revanth Reddy 07 December 2023- Present Indian National Congress


Current Chief Ministers of Telangana 

Since its inception on June 2, 2014, Telangana has witnessed the leadership of two Chief Ministers. K. Chandrashekar Rao, a member of the Bharat Rashtra Samithi party, held the inaugural term after securing victories in the 2014 and 2018 assembly elections. His leadership played a crucial role in the formative years of the state, focusing on developmental initiatives and addressing key issues.

The incumbent, A. Revanth Reddy from the Indian National Congress, assumed office on December 7, 2023. As the new Chief Minister, he brings with him a vision for the future and a commitment to addressing the evolving needs of Telangana. Reddy’s tenure is anticipated to shape the state’s trajectory, emphasizing policy changes and developmental strategies in the coming years.

Sharing is caring!

List of Chief Ministers of Telangana FAQs

Who is the current Chief Minister of Telangana?

Revanth Reddy has been serving as the Chief Minister of Telangana since December 7, 2023.

How many Chief Ministers has Telangana had since its establishment in 2014?

Telangana has had two Chief Ministers: K. Chandrashekar Rao from the Bharat Rashtra Samithi and the current incumbent, A. Revanth Reddy of the Indian National Congress.

What party does K. Chandrashekar Rao belong to?

K. Chandrashekar Rao is associated with the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *